SR-22 Requirement in Colorado
To restore your driver’s license after it has been suspended or revoked for an offense, you’ll need to find an insurance company that will file an SR-22 form or certificate with the Colorado DMV. An SR-22 certificate confirms your fulfillment of the state’s minimum liability car insurance requirements for the next three years. If you fail to pay the premium, it will lead to a suspended or revoked license.
In Colorado, an SR-22 certificate is needed to reinstate your license once you’ve been convicted of one or more of what the state considers major traffic violations, such as DWI.
What is a Colorado SR-22 Form?
The SR-22 form is proof that you have the state-required minimum liability car insurance coverage. In order to reinstate your driver’s license after a suspension or revocation, Colorado law requires you to prove you have adequate car insurance coverage by filing an SR-22 form.
Your car insurance company informs the Department of Motor Vehicle that it will not withdraw the insurance for a specific duration, normally three years, unless you fail to pay the premium. Insurance companies in Colorado are required to provide notice of any policy cancellation to the state.
How to Know if You Need an SR-22 Form in Colorado
The SR-22 form is needed for license revocations or suspensions due to major traffic convictions, such as:
- Driving Under the Influence or DUIs
- Driving with no car insurance
- Vehicular homicide or assault
- Failure to stop and render aid
- Motor vehicle theft
You can call the local Department of Motor Vehicle to know if you require an SR-22 form.
When Should I File an SR-22 Form?
There are a lot of reasons that the state of Colorado needs you to apply for an SR-22 form. The most common is license revocation or suspension for DUI or DWI. If your driver’s license is revoked because of the offenses mentioned, in addition to filing an SR-22 form, you’ll need to pay a reinstatement charge, meet all the requirements for reinstatement, and might need to set up an IID or ignition interlock device.
The state of Colorado has stern consequences for drivers convicted of DWI and DUI. On your first violation, you can face jail time, public service requirements, high fines, and probation, as well as therapy or alcohol education.
How to File an SR-22 Form in the State of Colorado
- Look for a car insurance company that insures high-risk drivers. Ask the company if it is certified to provide SR-22 forms in the state and if not, look for a certified provider.
- Pay the charge. To finalize the SR-22, you will pay your insurance company a charge for the filling convenience.
- Submit the form. Ask the insurance company to file the form on your behalf or mail it to the DMV. When mailing the SR-22 form, you might have to include an application for drivers license reinstatement.
The state-required minimum amount of car insurance in Colorado amounts to:
- $25,000/$50,000: bodily injury or death in any one accident for one person/more than one person
- $15,000 – property damage in any one accident
How Much Do I Need to Pay for Filing an SR-22 Form in Colorado?
Filing an SR-22 form is inexpensive, but this is a red flag to an insurance company that you have issues with your driving background and are now considered a high-risk driver. Once you are considered a high-risk driver, you can expect your car insurance premiums to increase – sometimes substantially.
Like the usual auto insurance that has non-owners and owner’s policies, SR-22 also has the same. In the state of Colorado, if you need to get an SR-22 certificate it doesn’t matter if you own a car or not.
There are options available for you, including:
- Owner/Operator certificate: For drivers who own their own car and also rent and borrow other vehicles
- Owner’s certificate: Given to the motorists who own a car which they drive
- Operator’s certificate: Given to the motorists who don’t have a car but who rent or borrow other vehicles
Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes
SR-22 Law in Colorado
As stated above, motorists who require an SR-22 are in the high-risk classification. These motorists will have to reinstate their license and deal with augmented premiums.
In Colorado, this certification is mandated for three years, although that can fluctuate depending on the circumstances. For that period of time, you need to keep the insurance policy and make sure you don’t fail to pay the premiums. In the event you fail to pay the premium, your car insurance provider will report to the DMV if your policy is canceled and your license may be revoked. To reinstate your driver’s privileges, you will have to obtain another SR-22 certificate and start another three years term. Driving safely, having a good driving record and paying your premiums is the best way to eliminate the SR-22 requirement.
What If I Moved to Another State?
SR-22 is state-specific although that doesn’t mean it goes away if you move to another state. Quite to the contrary, you can face strict penalties in your new state, including the loss of driving privileges, if you fail to maintain your SR-22 in the state you left.
If you have an SR-22 now and transfer to a place that doesn’t need an SR-22 form, you will still need to fulfill the requirements in the issuing state.
If you are planning a move, make sure you understand the rules concerning your SR-22 going forward. Ignorance is no excuse.
How to Find an Affordable SR-22 Online Today
Whatever your circumstances are, finding insurance that you can afford is required for your ongoing ability to drive safely and legally in Colorado. At SR-22 Adviser, we can point you in the right direction to find the best way to save money and fulfill your SR-22 requirement today. Visit our partner site to learn more.