SR-22 Requirement in Missouri
In Missouri, an SR-22 certificate for car insurance offers assurance that a high-risk motorist has the liability coverage required by the state. Missouri typically requires motorists to file an SR-22 form once they have a background of driving with no insurance, driving under the influence, reckless driving, or other serious traffic offenses. While the entire process of getting high-risk insurance in Missouri is like getting typical car insurance, motorists with an SR-22 certificate pay higher premiums. Read on to learn more about SR-22 insurance in Missouri.
What is an SR-22 Certificate in Missouri?
An SR-22 certificate in Missouri is a court-ordered form assessed legally for a motorist convicted of committing a serious traffic violation like driving under the influence, reckless driving, multiple traffic offenses, etc. It’s not a separate insurance policy, but an additional form filed by the insurance agency to show that you have sufficient auto insurance liability coverage to meet the minimum requirement of the state.
How Does an SR-22 Form in Missouri Work?
Once a car insurance provider receives your request for the SR-22 form, it will give the proof of insurance certificate to the Missouri Department of Transportation. Some car insurance firms will not cover a high-risk driver who needs an SR-22; others will charge a higher car insurance premium once you are convicted of a traffic offense that needs a Missouri SR-22.
The SR-22 certificate acts as evidence that you have the minimum amount of legally-required insurance coverage. This certificate offers a driver legal recognition that he or she carries the minimum amount of liability insurance. In Missouri, drivers must carry car insurance in the following amounts:
- $25,000 for property damage liability
- $25,000/$50,000 for bodily injury liability per person/accident
- $25,000/$50,000 for uninsured bodily injury liability per person/accident
Who Needs an SR-22 Certificate in Missouri?
In Missouri, drivers who have been convicted of a serious traffic offense like reckless driving, driving under the influence, etc., may need to file an SR-22 certificate.
SR-22 forms are needed for drivers in in Missouri who are in the category of high-risk drivers. For instance, they may have their driver’s license revoked or suspended after a serious offense or violation. In order to reinstate their drivers’ license, a high-risk driver has to obtain an SR-22 form.
Note: You may need this insurance in this state if you’ve been convicted of a serious traffic offense.
How to Acquire an SR-22 Form in Missouri?
To acquire an SR-22 certificate in Missouri, your car insurance provider will need to file the documents with the state DMV. Before this, you will have to buy at least the minimum liability car insurance coverage required in the state.
In Missouri, drivers or motorists need to keep an SR-22 on file for 2 to 3 years. This period of time reflects the severity of their conviction.
Note: If your driver’s license has been revoked or suspended, you may struggle to look for a car insurance company that will insure a high-risk driver. But there are options.
How Much Does an SR-22 Cost in Missouri?
The fee for filing an SR-22 form in the state of Missouri is lower than other states; you just need to pay $25. This is a one-time fee. However, it will usually be accompanied by a costly increase in your insurance premium. The increase in the costs of coverage will depend on the offenses on the record, plus other factors determined by the insurance company.
Find Cheap SR-22 Auto Insurance Quotes
Kinds of SR-22 Certificates
There are three kinds of SR-22 certificates in Missouri. You can pick any of the forms mentioned:
- Owner’s certificate: This kind of form is utilized if the driver drives his own car.
- Operator’s certificate: This form is utilized if the driver doesn’t own an auto but still drives by means of borrowing his friend’s car or renting a car.
- Operator/Owner Certificate: This form is utilized if the driver or motorist has one or two cars owned as well as drives other cars that he or she doesn’t own.
How Long Does an SR-22 Last?
If your driver’s license in Missouri has been suspended or revoked due to an offense, then an SR-22 form is needed for two years from the time of the suspension of your driver’s privileges. On the other hand, if your license was revoked due to Mandatory Insurance or False Insurance, then you’ll need to keep the SR-22 form on file for three years.
In the event that False Insurance revocation is involved in a mishap, filing for SR-22 is needed as evidence of insurance. What is more, other cases that will need SR-22 insurance coverage might have a longer requirement for SR-22.
How Will an SR-22 Impact My Insurance in Missouri?
An SR-22 will affect both the driver’s choice of a car insurance company and car insurance rates. Once you are required to have this form or certificate, you’ll pay a higher insurance premium than a motorist with a good driving record. Also, keep in mind that not all car insurance companies will insure motorists who require an SR-22 form, so you’ll be restricted in the selection of car insurance providers. Always make sure you are dealing with a reputable insurance company licensed to do business in Missouri.
Find Affordable Insurance with an SR-22 Online Today
Shopping around can offer competitive rates on your SR-22 insurance and you can find these rates with just a click. Here at SR-22 Adviser, we’re happy to help you save money each month. To get started, visit our partner site for an online quote today!